Cathedral of my Heart

I have been very angry and upset of late; my valley in the Old Town of Hastings has lost a lot of trees during the last few months, the police is harassing poor people who steal food from skips, David Cameron is bribing local Councils to allow fracking despite local opposition.
And on top of all of this it is constantly raining and I am cold.

So I have been seeking to regain my balance a bit and this poem came to me during a period of trying to understand more about my own rage. I thought I’d share it.

‘She took me to the roaring Sea
and She said;
Show the Sea your fury,
Force the waves to calm down!
So I raged and I cried
I stamped my feet in anger!
In response the shingle hissed
and the waves roared on

Then She took me to the Mountain
and She said;
Will the blizzards to stop
Show the ice your opposition!
And I wept and I cried;
I shook my fists in fury!
The snowstorm raged
and turned my tears to ice

She brought me to the Fire
and I saw the meadows burn
I saw the trees and deer engulfed in flames
And I screamed; Enough!
Tell me what you want!

So She brought me to the vast
and empty
Cathedral of my Heart
And She lit a candle
And I felt Peace.’

The poem can probably be improved on. That’s it, back to the studio!
www.annakeiller.com

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cathedral of my Heart

  1. Per says:

    Hi Anna,
    Sorry that it was some time since I read your posts here. It’s disqusting how some people can behave and I understand that you are upset. When they cut down trees in your own neighbourhood it becomes very significant. Here I’m upset over the vast and fast clear cutting of our old woods, and what we/I can do about it… I’m also upset over how we manage our carnivores, and all other endangered species in our country for that sake. I’m not sure what comes first, if we cut down all the old woods the wildlife we care about doesn’t have any place left to live in.
    Nice poem, I think I’ll light a candle…
    Take care
    /P

    • Anna says:

      Yes, I have been following the debate about varg jakten and I am so glad that EU intervened…Did that single female wolf manage to survive and breed? I remember signing a petition, but have seen no follow up. And I didn’t know they were still cutting down trees like that, I thought it was more discriminate these days. Sad to hear. Are there no opposition to kalhyggen?
      Thank you for your comment, Per
      Anna

      • Per says:

        I don’t know the status of the female wolf right now, but I think she is alive. One problem is that almost all land in northern Sweden is reindeer grazing land and there the the Sami people want no predators at all… About the clear cuts and the deforestation of our old woods there is an opposition, but mostly among environmental groups like Naturskyddsföreningen, WWF, Protect the forest etc. There’s alot of money in the business, and I don’t think that people in common care so much. In theory the local governance can protect particularly valuable areas but the don’t have the money to protect as much land as we ought to do. Sorry it is a long story, I tried to make it short but these matters engage me ;)

  2. umashankar says:

    Beautiful, chastening poem; powerful closing lines.

Leave a Reply

