Fat Birds

I went out into the garden this morning – it was raining. As I stood drinking my coffee, looking at the dark shiny clods of earth, I saw that tender pink Rhubarb shoots had broken through; pale green leaves still curled tight against the cold.
 I thought about how the earth had taken the shape of Rhubarb, how there was a possibility of Rhubarb and suddenly, one January morning, there it was, tender, wobbly, prone to slug attack.

I then thought about my Fat Birds and how they were born in a similar fashion from wet clay.
I spent many months thinking about birds and watching them before going into the studio.  I saw fat woodpigeons squabbling in the hawthorn, seagulls chasing air currents on a windy day, a tiny robin singing with the voice of silver bells from a tree branch. There was a possibility of Fat Birds.
Later on in my studio the first Fat Bird emerged almost by itself. I had to make very few changes and adaptations.

flock-of-fat-birds-blog1

 

 Because of Fat Birds fondness for the naked fire, I had to find out how to expose them to it without them blowing up in the process. In the end, smoke firing them in a galvanised dustbin filled with sawdust and Fat Birds and then set alight achieved that mottled effect I had in my mind’s eye. I have made hundreds of  birds since that day, but I feel that each bird is here on her own terms, telling the story about what it is like to be a Fat Bird.smoke-fired-birds-in-bin

 To see more of my work please go to  www.ANNAKEILLER.co.uk 

 

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fat Birds

  1. faith nolton says:

    Hi Anna – just come back from a springtime walk and read about the fat birds – I was delighted to see them roosting in their dustbin nest.
    My own fat bird [that I had from your flock] continues to bring its magical presence to my sitting room – watching from its still earthy centre that I don’t take myself too seriously!
    How wonderful that these birds migrate and continue to spread out into the world.
    Blessings and a sunny spring smile to you and your flock from Faith and my fat bird. xxx

    Like

  2. Schandelle says:

    How can one obtain a Fat Bird?

    Like

Leave a Reply

