Stories…part 1

shell-baby

In the dreamland between sleep and wakening, poetry is born. As I snatch at the dream evaporating before my eyes, startled creatures can be seen scurrying for cover.

This is such a creature. I call it a mood critter. There are plenty more hiding beneath my bed….

Mixed media sculpture ( ceramic doll’s head with a cold bronze finish, sea shell)

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Stories…part 1

  1. Ian says:

    Hi, Anna

    That Shell Baby is really cute. And I assume it’s small enough and light enough to be posted abroad to foreign buyrs. The Victorians were fond of water babies. Have a look at Herbert Draper’s A Water Baby (1900) on my website. (Another idea for a shell baby?)

    http://homepages.tesco.net/ian.cox99/tondi.htm

    You must download XnView to manipulate your graphics to show them to best effect. I downloaded the latest version recently, and it’s still free and brilliant. I’ll see what I can with your Shell Baby using XnView.

    That ArtNet social group is run by a German guy wearing a suit (on his avatar). He usually pops up to ask you to put more examples of your art on to your home page. You can also advertise exhibitions to the group.

    I’ll see if I can track down another group ForLoveofArt or something like that. The guy who runs it is very helpful. You get your own webpage for free. He has some very high quality professional painters on his website, but not much in the way of sculptors. The graphics are also high quality, so you would need XnView or a more expensive camers. Shell Baby is a little fuzzy and not lit as well as it could be. The idea is great, though.

    Ian

    Like

  2. Ian says:

    It still is: a spermatozoa swimming around looking for an ovum. It gets a bit more complicated than that as soon as fertilization takes place; but we all start life as a microscopic wriggly thing looking for its mate.

    I found that Art4Love website, but the owner seems to have given up promoting other people’s art.

    Like

Leave a Reply

