Love and Jealousy

Mindy blog 1Mindy is a seagull who’s  been nesting on my roof for three years now. She is very friendly to me, but she has got issues with my cat, Skittle.Mindy blog 2                                                                                 

In fact, I would say she is a bit jealous of his cushy life style. After all, she has got three young to feed!  So she has decided to take matters in hand.Mindy blog 3

That’s better!
Skittle very sensibly stays out of  the way…Between them they have worked out a system where by he eats the nice juicy jelly on top and she scoops up the left overs. He will chase her away if she over stays her welcome, but her cleaning up his scussy old food enabling him to demand a fresh top-up suits him to the ground. Mindy blog 4                                                                                                                     

See you later!

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Love and Jealousy

  1. johnnyh says:

    That’s great! – cool photos too!

    Like

  2. annakeiller says:

    Thank you, Johnnyh!

    Like

  3. patrick says:

    And how does the fox fit in here?
    Any badgers?

    Like

  4. annakeiller says:

    Patrick, you know about my foxes?
    Well, watch this space, I’ll be writing tales of Snook at a later date…

    Like

  5. Tania says:

    Great photos story Anna. Beware… I also have a ‘tame’
    seagull nickname of ‘Sodoff’. He’s had the same kind of arrangement with my cat Pixi,for over two years, but a couple of weeks ago he discraced himself by attacking Pixi as she wandered out into the garden one morning. No warning. he flew down off the roof and pecked her viciously right in the side, which caused a nasty wound needing visit to vet. hes been banned from the kitchen since and I no longer put out remains of uneaten cat food for him like before.
    So be careful.
    Tania

    Like

    • annakeiller says:

      I guess gull logic is alien to ours. So far Skittle is the boss, but I think perhaps when he gets older there will be issues. Mindy’s babies have flown the nest, and I anticipate she will disappear out to sea herself shortly.Sorry to hear about Pixi – must have been such a shock! But are you sure it was your ‘tame’ gull who attacked – and not the partner? Mindy is lovely, but the male – too disgusting to be named – is an aggressive bully!

      Like

  6. mandy says:

    Pecking order. I think it’s the cat mat – fishbones pattern. Mindy is the equivalent of a North Sea Trawler. Great photos! I live in Liverpool so seagulls aplenty here. None knocking at the door tho… let us know what happens Anna
    MandyCoe x

    Like

  7. Clive says:

    Have you worked out which flavours they each prefer?

    Like

  8. Elise says:

    This made me laugh so much. It’s like Seagull Takeout. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

