A journey into the mysterious…

This song is to me both camp and sublime – the words remind me of journeys I make in my mind when sitting in a forest or hill top.
The search for beauty and meaning has lead me to Shamanism and lately C. Jung’s writings on the collective unconsciousness and the archetypes.
The techniques I have learned through my studies have helped my art no end. Sometimes fully formed sculptures emerge in my mind’s eye – It is almost as if they just land there, asking to be created in clay. I know they have been waiting in my unconscious all along, and it is just a case of me recognizing them.
Below is a quote on the mysterious from Albert Einstein;
The most beautiful experience we can have is the mysterious. It is the fundamental emotion that stands at the cradle of true art and true science. Whoever does not know it and can no longer wonder, no longer marvel, is as good as dead, and his eyes are dimmed. It was the experience of mystery — even if mixed with fear — that engendered religion. A knowledge of the existence of something we cannot penetrate, our perceptions of the profoundest reason and the most radiant beauty, which only in their most primitive forms are accessible to our minds: it is this knowledge and this emotion that constitute true religiosity. In this sense, and only this sense, I am a deeply religious man… I am satisfied with the mystery of life’s eternity and with a knowledge, a sense, of the marvelous structure of existence — as well as the humble attempt to understand even a tiny portion of the Reason that manifests itself in nature.”

Albert Einstein (signature)

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A journey into the mysterious…

  1. First of all the Einstein quote is one I had on an old blog I had and I love it. I haven’t read a lot of Jung but have read those who work with his stuff and also when I first explored shamanism the woman I worked with was a Jungian psychotherapist, also through working with the Tarot over the years I got very turned on to the whole symbolic archetypal thing, as well as his synchronicity stuff which is fascinating. It was much later before I worked with someone I would class as a shaman . However I know that an experience I had when young and years later, was a wake up call of a disturbing and -lightening strike type nature -cant explain it too well but it left me with a world view that was totally different. I am no Artist.. I dabble and I try to write but I do know exactly where you are coming from on your journey..there is a divine madness in true creativity -not some new age childish twaddle… But its intense, journeying, like the shamanic experience is – deep and filled with salted blood from a bitten lip.. and I know that there are many people who struggle with its pull..with its calling and ache to express the essence..its is after all a journey within and to the rich treasures there, which cannot be discovered with out some disturbances..of the deep silted darkness
    Much love and many blessings to you on your journey my friend
    Ars Est Celare Artem
    🙂
    xxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

