Gaia

The most ancient symbol of Mother Earth  that I know of is the symbol of the bucranium, the skull of an ox. This symbol was used a lot during neolithic times to signify fertility; the head symbolising the womb and the horns the fallopian tubes. I have been playing with these symbols a bit

here.
In my ceramic plaque, I have replaced the bucranium with an image of Gaia’s face and the horns have turned into her hands picking life from the sea.
I’m showing this particular sculpture at the Arts Forum in Hastings this week www.hastingsartsforum.co.uk , along with a sculpture of Herne the Hunter. The show is to celebrate the wonderful Hastings Jack in the Green festival http://www.hastingsjack.co.uk/ that is taking  place this weekend, and the private view is on Friday 29th 6.30-9.30 at 36 Marina in St. Leonards -on Sea. I hope to see you there!
The show will then run from 28th April-3rd May.

A lot of my inspiration for these pieces come from reading Marija Gimbutas books about Old European pre- history civilization.

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.