Home made hand cream


My hands often feel dry and rough from working with clay all day long. I have tried most hand creams and lotions on the market, and some help more than others. In the end I decided to make my own, and this is one recipe I find works brilliantly; in fact I doubt I’ll ever use anything else. It is quite rich so you only need to use a tiny amount. The lemon juice and the oil will heal rough skin and there are no chemicals or preservatives to clog up your liver. I find it too heavy to use as a face cream, but it works OK as a body cream, if applied sparingly. It is absolutely lush for foot massage.
This is how you do it – it takes about 10 mins. from start to finish;
Squeeze one lemon and sieve away any bits  – one lemon should give you about 45 cl juice
Use the same amount of almond oil (or even olive oil if you prefer to use that.)
Melt a thin square of bees wax measuring approximately 2.5 cm x 2.5 cm in a saucepan over very low heat. It can easily burn so make sure you remove the saucepan from the heat if it starts to smoke.
Pour the liquid on to the melted beeswax and whisk everything together. Once it is blended and you have a white emulsion, remove from the heat and keep whisking until the mixture has cooled.
I like to add 2-3 drops of lavender, lemon or frankincense oil, but it isn’t necessary. Pour the cream into a jam jar and use within a month or so. Enjoy!

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

