Fox and Badger

For a few years I had this great fox visit my garden – and house if I would allow him in.
Image

He was a very handsome fellow, and I really loved him to bits and he loved my shoes which he used to nick. He also loved  Battenburg cake.

This is how we met. https://annakeiller.wordpress.com/2009/08/15/fox-blog/
He suddenly disappeared, and now I have a grubby and very fat little badger instead. I call her Maggot because of her shape.
I am really worried about her; I grow my own vegetables and I just know she will adore them, too. I picture her somewhere deep in a den with a huge litter of new little Maggots…
I haven’t managed to get a good picture of her yet, but I am trying to capture her in clay

I have given her some hefty claws to dig with…I will smoke fire her in the next few days and post the results.
To see more of my sculpture, please go to www.annakeiller.com

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fox and Badger

  1. Sonel says:

    Such stunning shots Anna! An absolutely adorable little thing and I can see he really enjoyed being there with you. The badger sculpture is gorgeous and so cute. Seems the animals know they are safe around you. You are blessed hon. 🙂
    *hugs*

    Like

    • Anna says:

      I so enjoyed his company too, Sonel, and I really miss him. yes, I feel very blessed having such great friends – still not sure about Maggot, though…Badgers are determined people and I’ve got these wonderful Maize plants…Don’t reckon I shall see any corn cobs this year…

      Like

  2. Sonel says:

    hehehe, love the “Fat Fairies”. You are a great artist hon. 🙂

    Like

  3. niasunset says:

    Dear Ana these are all so interesting and lovely. I didn’t know that fox can be like that, how nice, and how adorable like a dog… I am sad to hear that he disappeared… I hope and wish him to come back again… I know this feeling… there was a lovely cat around my garden and every day she was visiting me… suddenly disappeared… I try to think positive, maybe she had a wonderful owner and home… Your photographs are amazing. And sculpture too. Thank you, with my love, nia

    Like

    • Anna says:

      Thank you Nia. I hope your little cat is safe. Yes this fox was very special – apart from the occasional piece of cake I didn’t feed him – he was happy to hang around anyway. I guess someone else must have tamed him. Love to you, too xx

      Like

  4. Per says:

    Beautiful meetings with the fox and it must be special to feel the trust from an animal. Can’t wait to see you badger 😉
    /Per

    Like

    • Anna says:

      Hej Per,
      I’m about to write a bit about Badger – but only my sculpture of her – I still haven’t got any photos. I imagine she’s gone to ground incubating hordes of little mini-maggots!
      Anna

      Like

Leave a Reply

