Revisiting old techniques…

A few weeks ago,  a client called me up to say that his wife’s favourite bowl had been smashed

He bought it from a gallery in 1997, and could he commission me to make another one?

I did recall the frog bowl when I saw it, poor thing all bandaged up with sellotape! but it was made in the days when I made my own glazes, and I had not ever bothered to write down the recipes. Big mistake.

It was interesting to try to work out what was going on with the design and the glaze, but I could not remember the sequence of things. I knew that I had used casting slip and not solid clay, and that each piece had been cast separately and then assembled inside a press mould.  I decided to make several bowls and experiment a bit along the way.

I also had not used my spray gun for years so it was pretty gunked up. The compressor worked a treat, though, which was nice.

Here is a bowl inside the spray booth.

It is hard to tell what colour they will come out once they’ve been glazed in the kiln.

I think perhaps they are too pale, and what was meant to be red frogs turned into pink frogs instead. I quite like the finished result, though, and I think I’ll show them to my client before I re-glaze them.

www.annakeiller.com


About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Revisiting old techniques…

  1. God they look lovely 🙂 What a fantastic skill you have 🙂

    Like

  2. Mondrak says:

    Considering you made the original 15 years ago, and didn’t write the process down, I think you have done a great job in the attempt to copy

    Like

    • Anna says:

      Thank you, Mondrak. I had fun with it, but I still think the frogs should have been more red. However, I prefer them paler so I’ll wait to see what Bryan and Susan think before I re-glaze.xxx

      Like

  3. niasunset says:

    so beautiful… so beautiful. Thank you dear Anna, love, nia

    Like

Leave a Reply

