Red Admiral butterflies

It is the autumn equinox, and we were all enjoying beautiful late summer sunshine. One last gasp of summer before the winter gales…I counted more than 40 Red Admiral butterflies on one Ivy bush in my garden. And there were masses of honey bees.

The underside of the wings look almost scaly.

I’m so pleased I left a clump of nettles up by the greenhouse as they are the only thing a Red Admiral caterpillar will eat.

.

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Red Admiral butterflies

  1. Anna says:

    Thank you Alastair – wonder how they’re all doing today in the driving rain…

    Like

  2. rthepotter says:

    You’re lucky if you have numbers of bees – they seem in very short supply round here – and my nettle patch doesn’t seem to have been munched at all, which is worrying. I don’t know how they survive the weather. It’s stair-rods again here, too.

    Like

  3. Anna says:

    I have noticed that the bees love lavender and over the years I have filled my garden with lavender bushes I propagated from taking small shoots from my friends plants…

    Like

Leave a Reply

