Fox mange and the National Fox Welfare Society

fox blog shoes

This is a very friendly fox that used to come to my garden a lot and nick my shoes and other items of delight…This is a link to a previous post about him.
But foxes come and go, and the new foxes are a sorry breed:

DSCF2733_editedThey have both got the mange. This one is the worst off. DSCF2736_edited
They are also very shy; poor things they really have a rotten life at the moment. By luck (and by Google) I came across The National Fox Welfare Society and discovered that  they send out bottles of mange treatment free of charge or for a donation.
The trick is to make sure that the foxes each eat some of the treatment every day; I feed them fruit scones and honey sarnies because my cat don’t like sweet things and so leaves the medicine alone.
I really hope the foxes will make it through the winter.

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Fox mange and the National Fox Welfare Society

  1. Aw, I hope they benefit from the medicine. They do look pretty sorry. Um, do you worry about rabies, or do you not have it there?

    Like

    • Anna says:

      Thank you for visiting! Yes, fingers crossed they can be cured from that terrible disease. We don’t really have rabies in the U.K, which is a blessing…
      Anna

      Like

  2. rthepotter says:

    So much for the joys of being wild and free … and well done you for trying – hope it works.

    Like

    • Anna says:

      It really makes no sense to me at all why these poor creatures must suffer so. This stuff (the drops I give them) has worked before with some other foxes; the trick is to get them to eat it before the badgers or other foxes get there first. And for them to stay alive for long enough. The mange has rendered one of them almost blind. Argh!
      I also do not want to tame them; I’ve made that mistake before and it is a drag.

      Like

  3. pimpmybricks says:

    I was just thinking as I was reading “it makes you want to get hold of them and give them a good dosing” when I discovered that’s exactly what you’re doing. I’m so glad. I hope they benefit from your ministrations. Fruit scones and honey sarnies, eh? Bet they don’t get that in all their stop-offs!
    PP

    Like

  4. Dee says:

    Well actually not sure about this society as I requested the medicine four weeks ago for a very sick fox in my garden. Paid my coribution of £7 as requested .was told I would receive the medication in two days but four weeks , severe weather conditions,five phone calls and one e-mail later have still heard nothing from them beginning to wonder if this is a scam !

    Like

    • Anna says:

      This is so strange; did you go to http://www.nfws.org.uk/. They send out homeopathic drops and they have never charged me a penny! what is going on? They are manned by volunteers, perhaps something slipped through the net?

      Like

    • Anna says:

      Oh and if your fox is really badly affected, you can also go to your vet (any friendly vet, you may have to ask around for one) and ask for some Ivomec (dog mange medicine) You need 0.13 mil, and they should only charge you a few pounds because it is a wild animal. Ask around, make a fuss! You need two doses, about 10 days apart. Some vets are darlings, some are hardnosed; find a nice one that’ll help! And feed your sick fox as much as you feel you can; they need strength to survive this disease; cat food, dog food, sandwiches; not chocolate. You are a star for caring xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

