Sold – ceramic angel

DSCF0678_edited
This is Zackariah’s Angel, a ceramic wall  sculpture measuring 23”x 32” .
It is on it’s way to Sweden as we speak; and I must admit I find it very exciting when my work is bought by people around the globe.
The inspiration for the piece comes from a story in the New Testament about  how old Zackariah went to the market where he met an angel who told him to go home to his wife, Elizabeth, and beget a son. (Poor old Elizabeth was around 90 years of age at this point) Home he shuffled, and in time a son was born; and this was John the Baptist.
John the Baptist is a bit of a favourite of mine; a wild and uncompromising character who lived in the desert and survived on wild honey and locusts. Salome demanded his head on a plate, if you recall.
I have always loved Aubrey Beardsley’s illustrations; this is how he pictures the scene with Salome.
aubrey-beardsley-salome-1353940223_b

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sold – ceramic angel

  1. dou dou says:

    Congrats! Nice job on the sculpture 🙂

    I too find it exciting to send things abroad, don’t know why it’s more fun that local

    Like

  2. pimpmybricks says:

    I like your torsos a lot, and in particular your angels – I often find myself wondering where one might be happy in the Regency Wreck.
    PP

    Like

Leave a Reply

