Fox news…

DSCF2897_edited

I wrote about this squatting fox a little while ago..https://annakeiller.wordpress.com/2013/02/16/cat-and-fox-winter-shelter-2/
I thought he was recovering well from a bout of fox mange, but in just a few days he has lost a lot more fur; just look at his poor tail!

DSCF2900_edited
It is the dreaded mange. And it is not clearing up.

DSCF2887_edited
So I went to a friendly Vet and got two 0.13mls Panomec doses in a syringe. I gave him the first dose with some cat food.

DSCF2868_edited
I will give him the next 0.13 mls in 10 days time.
I can’t be doing with the homeopathic drops any more; I think this Fox needs emergency treatment! The vet told me that when the medicine is for a wild animal, she is able to charge just a few pounds per dose.
So if you have a mangy fox in your garden, what it needs is two doses of Ivamec or Panomec and try to get your fox to eat it ten days apart; if he is very skinny and weak you may have to feed him up during his recovery. This is a link to more info.
I don’t actually fed this fox on a regular basis as he seems pretty chubby; I don’t want to make a pet out of him.
Besides; the Skittle would go mad with jealousy. He is already hissing and spitting at Fox every time he sees him.
And now, back to the studio!

www.annakeiller.com

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fox news…

  1. Lynda says:

    I’m so glad you are taking care of this! You are so kind. I treated a littler of feral kittens many years ago and each had to be injected daily to rid them of the mange. Treatments have certainly gotten a lot easier since then!

    When you last wrote about this you asked, “Where’s the cat?” Glad Skittles is still around! 😀

    Like

  2. happy your foxy little buddy is getting some of your TLC – *and* that Skittle is still with you. Aren’t you worried that he willl also get mange?

    Like

  3. I am very interested in one of your little owls, but I want it to fly to Selsey – can you give me prices & payment details? I kinda want it to get there by tomorrow (March 1) though I know that’s impossible…

    Like

  4. I understand what you mean about feeding the fox. You can risk making him trust humans, and then he will become more a pet, than a wild animal. But, I think it shows what a lovely and kind person you are Anna, to go to the trouble of getting the medicine from the vet. There are some, who wouldn’t even think of it. You are such an angel. I’m glad to hear Skittle the Cat has returned, despite his hissing! LOL! Have a lovely Weekend hon! Much Love Paul OXOXOXOXOXO

    Like

  5. aww Anna, that is very sweet and kind of you, I’ve heard mange is very painful too, so you’re being an angel helping him out…. I do want to mention, though, if his stomach is upset from the meds, you may need to feed him something to keep his strength up, or he’ll be too sick to eat in 10 days! and just give up. I know people say not to feed him, or he’ll consider you a food sorce, but you already had to feed him to give him the meds, so that’s not an issue anymore….and once he feels better, he’ll probably head back to the woods or meadow…. thanks from those of us who care, even animals will take in other sick animals and care for them…its the least we can do. 🙂

    Like

    • Anna says:

      Hi and thank you for your comment; Yes, like you say, it is the least we can do.
      I have a feeling that people at the nursery home down the road are feeding the fox. But I agree with you, he will need food to re-recuperate. I gave him a fresh doughnut yesterday; he took it, but he didn’t go mad over it so either he really is very poorly, or else he’s got the food thing under control elsewhere…
      Anna x

      Like

Leave a Reply

