One hundred and fifty years in the life of a tree…an update

I recently wrote about how several mature trees were felled during prime nesting time across the road at the Sacred Heart Catholic school, a conservation area. https://annakeiller.wordpress.com/2013/05/19/one-hundred-and-fifty-years-in-the-life-of-a-tree-plus-the-last-few-hours/

It hurt me in so many ways. While the trees were being cut down outside, inside, in the class rooms, the teachers were teaching their 5-11 year old pupils about the importance of trees and hedge rows to nature conservation.
I know this, because that was what the headmaster told us when we asked him what effect this would have on the children’s understanding of nature conservation. He didn’t even seem to see the irony of his statement.
To this head master, conservation is just an empty word, window dressing. Do as I say, not as I do.
I feel incredibly sad about this compartmentalized view about children, nature and creativity.
I started making this box sculpture a few months ago, but I only finished it properly yesterday.
Perhaps I shall call it ‘Sacred Heart’.
DSCF3158_edited

Ceramic sculpture 15” x 12” and 4” deep (38cm x 30cm x 10 cm).  It can be hung on a wall, or just placed on a table top.

DSCF3157_edited

The six flowers on the bottom ledge are loose and can be moved about a bit…

www.annakeiller.com

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One hundred and fifty years in the life of a tree…an update

  1. Sonel says:

    I love this Anna and yes, it’s sad that there are people out there that have that ignorant attitude. They just do things when it pleases them and doesn’t care about the consequences or the effects it will have on nature or others. People like that should be cut down I say! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

