Men at War

A terrible noise woke me up from my hammock slumber….
DSCF3201_edited

a fighter jet was hurling itself through the air.

DSCF3202_edited

across the sea front

DSCF3203_edited

just above the roofs of the houses

DSCF3219_edited

going back and forth for ages, upsetting everyone, including the birds…

I just wonder; why?

DSCF3217_edited

Is this supposed to make me feel safe? To see a weapon of mass destruction paraded by it’s proud owners like some super phallic toy….

I am told it is an Avro Vulcan Bomber Jet…

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Men at War

  1. rthepotter says:

    Scary … air show anywhere? (Well caught on the camera, by the way.)

    Like

  2. Alastair says:

    I love airshows. The Red Arrows were here (well Folkestone) last week

    Like

  3. joyfunnell says:

    Yep, it was a great display by the only surviving Vulcan and we really enjoyed it. There were thousands (my estimation!) of people down on the seafront to watch it. Lovely to see it come to Hastings 🙂

    Like

  4. joyfunnell says:

    And you got some good photos! 🙂

    Like

  5. Anna says:

    thank you, Joy but I must get a better camera, they’re almost out of focus..and my present one has very little zoom capacity.:-)

    Like

  6. nice shots of a great power used only for death! 😉

    Like

  7. Anna says:

    I was terrified. I didn’t know anything about the planned ‘airshow’ and i thought some punk had nicked a fighter jet and was going to crash it into the houses on the hill. I can just imagine how Pakistani or Afghan villagers must feel when they’re suddenly assaulted by one of these things while gathering for a wedding feast …

    Like

  8. Sonel says:

    Yes, I wouldn’t like seeing those flying over my house as well. They should do their test flights in areas where there aren’t any houses Anna. What if something went wrong and that thing plunged into the houses there? Not very cool at all. I would have reported it. *hugs*

    Like

    • joyfunnell says:

      No, not a test flight, a very well publicised air display. It had been in our local paper for the last three or four weeks and there were posters up everywhere in town and along the seafront for it. 🙂 The whole display was above the sea and not the houses.

      Like

  9. Anna says:

    I did not know about it, no. But then again I do not buy the local paper and I have been mainly house bound with my dodgy back….
    I posted a video further up in the comments section; yes it was indeed a great social occasion with balloons, bag pipes, parades, over excited children and hot dogs. God help us.

    Like

Leave a Reply

