Masked Gods

DSCF3561_edited

‘Eagle’ Ceramic sculpture with glaze and bronze effect finish 12″ x 5″ (30cm X 13 cm)

DSCF3565_edited

‘Pheasant’ Ceramic sculpture with glazes and bronze effect finish 14″ x 5″ (36cm X 14cm)

DSCF3562_edited
‘Chicken’ Ceramic sculpture with glazes and bronze effect finish 11″ x 5″ (29cm x 14cm)

DSCF3556_edited

All together now…
I was playing with the concept of multiple realities when working with these sculptures. I was examining the shamanic idea of inviting benevolent spirits or power animals into your mind and being, to bring help, healing and guidance.
They look quite fierce, and there was a lot of strong emotions involved during their creation, but I must admit I have had a whale of a time. Saying that, I spent most of the spring and summer in my bed or on the floor with a really bad back. So they took a long time coming, and now they are here I’m not sure what the next step is going to be; I had intended them for an exhibition in London, but they may well be too strange.
I can’t help laughing at  the contrariness of life; these guys helped me through a really dire period; but they creep people out.
Hmm. Back to the drawing board.

www.annakeiller.com

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Masked Gods

  1. rthepotter says:

    I definitely admire the bird heads, but adding them as masks to the faces is creeping me out too much to enjoy them!

    Like

  2. Anna says:

    yes, I can see where you are coming from, and thank you for your feedback. I had so much fun making them, though.

    Like

  3. WordsFallFromMyEyes says:

    You’re so creative. These are great. They don’t creep me out. I feel they are elevated in that way. I like it. Love the red, especially.

    Like

Leave a comment