Smoke firing a ceramic torso

Oh, the weather! Gales and vertical rain. I have spent the holidays vertical, too; on my sofa in front of the fire watching Breaking Bad compulsively online.
Live dangerously, right?

DSCF3895_edited

I couldn’t decide if I should smoke fire my ‘Lady with the Necklace’ ceramic torso, or not.
I suppose the problem was that I really liked her as she was, and when you hoik a 50cm x 39 cm tall sculpture into a galvanized dustbin and set fire to it, it may break. So eenie-mine-mo! After a particularly gruesome and amusing episode of Breaking Bad, when the mild mannered chemistry teacher…oh, I digress. Point is, I got bored, got up from the sofa, grabbed the lady… and… seize the day, right?

KONICA MINOLTA DIGITAL CAMERA

..just praying that the wind won’t overturn the dustbin! I loaded the lid with bricks just to be on the safe side.
smoke f. in rain blog

The next morning, the bins were still standing upright. A very good sign.
And, she survived
DSCF4076_edited

I think she is looking a bit more interesting now, but what do you think?
DSCF4078_edited

Happy New Year, everyone!
Anna

www.annakeiller.com

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Smoke firing a ceramic torso

  1. Sonel says:

    Stunning job as usual Anna and I am glad she survived. We had lots of rain here as well but then, I do prefer it about this heat. 😀
    Wishing you a wonderful 2014 hon and all of the best. *big hugs*

    Like

  2. Lynda says:

    Definitely worth the effort and the risk! She’s so lovely, Anna.

    Like

    • Anna says:

      Thank you, Lynda, and thank you for dropping by! xx

      Like

      • Lynda says:

        I like visiting you, Anna. I have just been swamped with so much to do here and on the mountain. I have been avoiding the internet as much as I can in order to get things done! I didn’t even turn on my computer yesterday… GASP!

        Love your work, and hope the 2014 brings you health and more sales!

        Like

      • Anna says:

        Thank you, Lynda, and I hope 2014 will improve immensely for you after such a harsh start. We have both gone through the wringer a bit, or so it would seem.

        Like

Leave a Reply

