Hastings May Day/Jack in the Green

Sunshine, and I finally join the throngs of people gathered to love this town, celebrate and release the spirit of Spring; they’ve been hard at it for days – I’ve heard the drums echoing between the hills and up the valley.
DSCF4581_edited

I am greeted by the Green Man; he daubs my nose with green paint
DSCF4572_edited

…weaving my path in and out between people

DSCF4549_edited

I come across a golden man with a pained expression

DSCF4553_edited

The Pentacles are drumming…drumming and their beat anchor me to the ground
DSCF4574_edited

A giantess arrives.
DSCF4584_edited
Followed by Asterix
DSCF4605_edited
The drums fill me with joy, smiley people in fancy head gear; yeah, it’s all good.

But, soon, very soon I am back on the hills and can gaze upon the gatered humanity from a distance.
DSCF4619_edited

DSCF4624_edited

The sun is covered in a light mist and it has turned hot and humid

DSCF4626_edited

Chilled people enjoying their lovely town…

DSCF4627_edited

Bluebells glimmering amongst the bracken, and on the other side of the valley people are ritually slaughtering Jack, releasing the Spirit of Spring for another year.

www.annakeiller.com

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hastings May Day/Jack in the Green

  1. Al says:

    Wow. Looks like ti was a fantastic day. I see Brian Blessed’s clone got in on the action hehe. I have always marvelled at the Green Man festival although I have never been. Glad it was a nice day for you

    Like

Leave a Reply

