New Ceramic Plaque

DSCF5063_edited

It took me quite a while to glaze my ceramic plaque, ‘Above a field of sunflowers in Ukraine’  I just couldn’t make up my mind how to go about it.  Should I use stains, under glazes or just oxides? And how make the crosses stand out and not disappear into the back ground?
In the end I settled for cobalt oxide for the blue bits and manganese and red iron oxide for the rest. I chased a bit of shiny transparent glaze into the crosses, so that they would stand out more, but the rest of the plaque is covered in a very thin layer of matte transparent glaze.

I made the plaque after reading about the airplane that was shot down above a field of sun flowers in the Ukraine.
I so wanted some kind of resolution, but it didn’t really happen in the way I anticipated. I wanted my plaque to be a prayer for the deceased, I wanted to feel that the victims of the plane crash rose,  like in a Stanley Spencer painting, http://www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/spencer-the-resurrection-cookham-n04239/text-illustrated-companion like angels into heaven. They objected. All I could feel for days was anger and confusion.
In the end I had to back off and merely make a picture of what the situation looked like from my perspective.
I used paper clay to make this plaque – paper clay is normal clay mixed with paper pulp or flax which makes it very strong and light. You can add wet paper clay to dry and even bisque fired clay, which gives you a lot of freedom to create basically anything you want..

This is a link back to my original post about this work. https://annakeiller.wordpress.com/2014/07/30/above-a-field-of-sunflowers-in-ukraine-july-2014/

DSCF5065_edited

www.annakeiller.com

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Ceramic Plaque

  1. Al says:

    That’s fantastic

    Like

  2. agnesashe says:

    Beautiful and poignant without being sentimental.

    Like

  3. Ooooooooooooooooh, I like that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

