Life casting classes

So this man calls me up from Belgium and wants to come over to Hastings for the weekend to learn how to do life casting AND how to make a mold of his cast so that he can make ceramic torso sculptures from it back in his studio in Belgium. In two and a half days. So no pressure, then.
A few days later Ignace and his partner arrive in Hastings and considering we only have 2.5 days we need to beetle on.
This is us late at night, Friday.

DSCF5202_edited

Skittle, the Cat of Delight, is the only one looking pleased at this point. Plaster needs time to cure, and things just have to go right at the first attempt as the Euro-star tickets back to Calais are booked for lunch-time Sunday.
I am quietly confident that we have this wrapped, but I have bought a strange batch of plaster that seems to go off incredibly fast. Plus it is a bit lumpy, as if it has been kept in a damp place. I ditch as many batches as I accept at this point. Ignace is a true star and we motor on regardless.

Saturday morning;

DSCF5213_edited

We have a result! A perfect body cast.
Now we have to use this plaster body cast to make a mold.

DSCF5219_edited

It is important to negate any undercuts, so Ignace has stuck clay to any areas that would trap the plaster.

DSCF5220_edited

Then he builds more clay walls …because…

DSCF5221_edited

We are going to pour fresh plaster all over the life cast. I have  sussed that this batch of plaster is weird, and I make very thin mixtures…which we pour all over the life cast of Christine.

Early the next day…yawn… Sunday, it is time to see if it worked. Clutching my coffee I pray to the Gods while Ignace scrape away the surplus clay and then tries to lift the top lump of plaster from the bottom lump…

And just like that; the molds separate. At the first attempt.

DSCF5228_edited_2

And here we are; man and mold.

DSCF5232_edited

About an hour before they had to dash for the Euro-tunnel, but still.

If you would like to learn how to make  life cast sculptures and/or a mold of your cast, then please contact me via my website

www.annakeiller.com. or my mobile 07722171818.

 

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Life casting classes

  1. What a wonderful experience. Working together was such a rich experience. Instinctively we where working all together. Like a team that have been working for years. I want to thank you for this training. And also want to thank Christine for her patience and presence.
    A training that i recommand for all ceramists who wants to increase their skills with a fantastic skilled teacher.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anna says:

      Thank you Ignace! And thank you for coming all the way from Belgium. Yeah, at times we were dancing. I loved that. And Christine was a trooper. All is good! How is the mold – still sopping wet?

      Like

  2. Pingback: Residetial Ceramic Workshops | Annakeiller's Blog

Leave a Reply

