Airborne Art Critics

I suddenly acquired some Cocatiels a while back – I saw them sitting in a small cage in a dark stuffy room and, well, you know.
Besides, I had seen these compelling ‘tiel  videos on YouTube, the ones where the plucky little creatures play the piano and sing the national anthem while wrestling with the cat.  It had to be done.

When I got them home, they hid in their little nest box for days and refused to budge. Then, when hunger finally drove them out and they felt confident enough to start exploring their new home, they dropped on to the floor of my studio where they ran around like feathered little mice for several days.

DSCF5134_edited

DSCF5154_edited_2

They didn’t even know how to fly. Somebody had cut their wings and they lurched and flopped like mutilated bumblebees. But.

DSCF5306_edited

Pretty soon they figured out how to make use of all the props in my studio to launch themselves into the air. Here they are sitting on my ceramic torsos. The problem I have with that plot is that they tend to nibble a bit on anything available.

DSCF5453_edited_2

They love clay, it seems. I don’t really mind a lot of the time. But I guess I will have to construct some safe space for my sculpture work to dry out, eventually. At the moment I am busy experimenting, so most of my work gets trashed anyway.

DSCF5441_edited

A lot of it by this little fellow, Bo-Bo.

DSCF5372_edited

They are settling in, I would say.
And so they need to think to the future. They began to set up home in the curtains, but then re-discovered their nesting box.

DSCF5345_edited

Bo-Bo will dive into the box and there will be an awful lot of crashing and banging going on inside it. I do not know what he is up to, but I guess he may be busy putting up shelves or laying down a new floor. What do I know.
Meanwhile, the female will be sitting outside on a perch, screeching at the top of her voice. This bit I can do without – it is ear piercing.
Then, finally, out he pops and she will shoot inside to inspect the new home improvements…. And meanwhile, he is sat on the perch outside the entrance, wolf whistling. I am not making this up. He really knows how to wolf whistle.
But, he never got the box right. Or so it would seem.

DSCF5393_edited

So then they discovered a new nest. A biig nest! The biggest nest, ever!
And he is busy biting strips of my shelves to create a lovely warm space inside the bowl. I think his efforts are meeting with her approval.
DSCF5340_edited

No eggs as of yet, but who knows what is going on inside the minds of these curious birds?

To see some of my un-nibbled ceramic work, please go to www.annakeiller.com

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Airborne Art Critics

  1. Missed seeing your distinctive work Anna. Thanks for stopping by

    Like

Leave a Reply

