New Ceramic Torsos and Angels

I’ve updated my website with a few new ceramic torso and angel sculptures that I made last year. They are the last in the series of torsos based around life casts.
2017-05-15 2017-05-15 001 001_edited
This ceramic sculpture is made in 3 pieces and there are hooks in the back for easy assembly on a wall. The Angel along with her wings measures approximately 37 x 23”  – the angle of the wings can be adjusted slightly.
And this is Huldra, the secretive femme fatale of Scandinavian forests
2017-05-15 2017-05-15 001 007_edited
True to form, she has a hollow back. Which makes her easy to hang on your wall.
She measures 18 x 12” and you can find her here.
2017-05-15 2017-05-15 001 009_edited
I particularly like her tummy; I smoke fired her in my galvanised dustbin, and the copper oxide, which normally is green, turned red in places.
DSCF0339_edited
A friend once showed me how to smoke fire ceramic sculptures in a simple dustbin with holes drilled in the sides. You place your sculpture on a bed of dry leaves, grass, sawdust, newspaper – whatever you have to hand –  cover it with the same and set fire to it. Once the flames have taken hold, you replace the lid and allow to quietly smoulder.
I run ceramic workshops from my studio in Hastings – if you are interested in trying your hand at some of the above, you can find out more here.
Thanks for looking!
www.annakeiller.com

 

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to New Ceramic Torsos and Angels

  1. sriramjanak says:

    beautiful…love the textures…<3

    Like

Leave a comment