How Gods are made

King Mongkut (Rama IV) is still venerated as a God in Thailand.  In the west he became famous as the all singing and all dancing King of Siam in ‘The King and I’.
A while ago I spent an evening with a Thai lady, Grace, who had recently moved to Hastings. On her house altar I noticed a postcard of King Mongkut’s contemporary, Queen Victoria, in between the flowers and incense.
Grace told me about how she was once walking along the sea front when she came across this statue of Queen Victoria. The sculpture spoke to her, and gave her some advise about where she should go to meet her husband to be. Grace needed to get married in order to stay in England, so she followed Queen Vic’s advise and everything went to plan. Grace has now decided that Queen Victoria is a Goddess.
And who am I to argue otherwise.

This is how I’m more used to seeing her, though.
Again, I am constantly amazed by how smoothly reality can twist and turn itself into whatever shape we need it to be…Queen Vic; a Dumpy, Dead Despot with a Bollard on her Head or a Benevolent Living Goddess – take your pick.

More House Gods at www.annakeiller.com

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to How Gods are made

  1. Elaine says:

    I love the idea of Queen Vic as this newly arrived Thai lady’s new goddess, gifting her with the connection to be able to stay in the UK. I think I quite like the Dr Who version of her myself 🙂

    Like

    • Anna says:

      Hi, yes it certainly made me sit up and take notice when I saw the old Queen’s postcard amongst the Buddhas and incense sticks at her altar…I have yet to see the Doctor Who version, but shall look out for it now that I know about it.
      Thanks for dropping by 🙂

      Like

  2. An interesting story Anna, and a great example of how things can look to us, from different perspectives. Have a fun Week ahead! Big Hugs Paul OXOXOXOXOXO

    Like

  3. JaneJane says:

    Such a great story about perspective. Whatever works I think.

    Like

  4. Sonel says:

    How interesting Anna. It sure is amazing how everyone sees everything differently. On the last photo she looks like a witch with that bollard on her head. All she needs now is a broom. LOL! Lovely post hon. 🙂 *hugs*

    Like

Leave a comment