Faith Nolton, Painter of Shamanic vision

   Faith Nolton is an artist- shaman who uses journeys into altered reality as inspiration for paintings and poems. We made contact a few years ago when I was looking for Shamanic artists online and found her website http://www.soulgardens.co.uk/. Faith describes Shamanism as an ancient natural relationship with life, in which all things are related, and connected – a web of energy that is affected by our actions, thoughts, emotions and intentions. It is not a ‘religion’, but enables one to live in a larger waveband of sacred experience and understanding, with the guidance and loving support of personal spirit helpers. There is more information about her creative process on the site and how she encourages others to heal and expand their inner creative ‘garden’  

Here is an image called ‘Hare talks with the Red Flowers’
The painting to the right is autobiographical and called ‘Gathering Soul’                                        

This is ‘Garden Spirit’ 

I recommend a visit to her website where you can also find a selection of poems. Here’s one of my favourites;

BEACH ENCOUNTER

 The beach was wide and flat today

Stretched out beneath the winter sun

As I walked across reflected scudding clouds

Towards the chattering waves and gulls

And suddenly I was not alone.

‘Thank you’ I said aloud 

‘For the long years you have shadowed me’

At some times almost tangible,

And then again a merest wisp of presence

In a twilight birdsong, or the first star.

And as I speak

Into the light stretched overhead,

I am twelve years old, and we

Are pedaling uphill along a country lane.

I lead, but as my muscles strain

I feel the gentle reassuring pressure

Of your hand in the small of my back.

And now the wheels turn easily;

Father and child, uphill we go,

Two abreast,

Never a word needed,

To the crest of the hill.

As now, walking towards the sea,

Walking on an uphill stretch of life,

I feel that hand in the pressure of the breeze

At my back, and we are side by side again 

About Anna

I am a ceramic sculptor living on the South coast near London, England. My work is influenced by my experience of the earth as a living being and seeing how we are all connected with eachother and with the things that surround us. I create ceramic torsos using molochite clay which I often smokefire in galvanised dustbins. I also make House Gods to protect and amuse, and Fat Birds - little smokefired sculptures that tell the story about what it is like to be a fat bird at peace with its surroundings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Faith Nolton, Painter of Shamanic vision

  1. Thanks for sharing Faith’s work with us. Creating visual images that convey something of the shamanic experience of the world is challenging. It is also something done by many artists in shamanic cultures. I am often not too keen on Westernized versions of shamanic art, as they often seem to be more about concepts and ideas, than about direct experience. Faith’s work seems to go beyond surface concepts to convey something more immediate and profound.

    Like

  2. celticchick says:

    Anna,

    I found this artwork to be very calming. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

